Tea Party of Scottsdale, AZ
Our mission is to attract, educate, organize, and mobilize our fellow citizens to secure public policy consistent with our three core values: Personal Freedom, Economic Freedom and a Debt-Free Future



Arizona Legislature

CHECK this page frequently as the Legislative session proceeds.

This will keep you up to speed on what is happening in our State Legislature and who is doing it!

Common_Core.jpgFrom Arizona School Choice to Common Core Fighters:

Diane_Douglas_2.jpg Diane Douglas, Superintendent of Public Instruction presented her "State of Education Presentation" Jan 21st, and 22nd, in the House Education and Senate Education Committees, respectively. 

Here are the House education bills posted thus far for review. The Senate bills haven't been fully posted yet.  Use this link: www.azleg.gov and enter the bill number in the search bar at the top right of the webpage.  

HB2392:  Common Core prohibition

HB2190:  Common Core replacement/data collection issues

HB2246:  Statewide Assessments/parental opt out

HB2174:  Empowerment Scholarships/grandkids

HB2483: Public School Tax Credit/classroom expense

HB2066:  Public School Tax Credit/testing

HB2180: Menu of Assessments

HB2050: Board of Ed member removal criteria

Arizona Citizens Defense League  works to protect 2nd Amendment Rights in Arizona.  Go to this site for information on pending legislation & links to contact your Representatives.  The status of bills that AzCDL is monitoring can be found on our Bill Tracking page.

The following is a listing of all of the Standing Committees in the State House for your information and future action.  We each have pet areas of concern and we all need to pick one or more of the committees to monitor and contribute your thoughts and ideas to during the course of the 2015 Legislative Sessions.  If you are not a member of ALIS go to the capital and sign up.  This will enable you to voice your opinions from your easy chair at home on the various bills that will be reviewed by these committees before they go to the floor for a vote...if they go to the floor for a vote.  We have to remember that we elected these people to represent us...the election was just the first step in our activism.  The most important step is to make sure that they do just that...represent We the People of Arizona and not just 'some' of the people.  We have to stay involved or they will not. 

   Arizona House Speaker-Elect David Gowan has announced House Standing Committees members for the 52nd Legislature. Bills are assigned to one or more of the 19 House Committees on first reading. Standing Committees review bills and conduct inquiries as part of the early stages of the legislative process. Membership and meeting times for each House Committee are  listed below:

   Agriculture, Water and Lands (Thursday morning) Chair – Brenda Barton, Vice Chair – Darin Mitchell, Regina Cobb, Karen Fann, Steve Montenegro, T.J. Shope, Jennifer Benally, Rosanna Gabaldon, Lisa Otondo.

   Appropriations (Wednesday afternoon) Chair – Justin Olson, Vice Chair – Vince Leach, John Allen, Russell “Rusty” Bowers, Rick Gray, Warren Petersen, Tony Rivero, David Stevens, Michelle Ugenti, Lela Alston, Mark Cardenas, Stefanie Mach, Eric Meyer, Andrew Sherwood.

   Banking and Financial Services (Tuesday afternoon) Chair – Kate Brophy McGee, Vice Chair – Jeff Weninger, John Allen, Eddie Farnsworth, Jill Norgaard, Diego Espinoza, Rosanna Gabaldon, Debbie McCune Davis.

   Children and Family Affairs (Monday afternoon) Chair – John Allen, Vice Chair – Kate Brophy McGee, John Christopher Ackerley, Regina Cobb, Phil Lovas, Kelly Townsend, Sally Ann Gonzales, Juan Jose Mendez, Rebecca Rios.

   Commerce (Wednesday morning) Chair – Warren Petersen, Vice Chair – Jill Norgaard, Jay Lawrence, Tony Rivero, T.J. Shope, Diego Espinoza, Charlene Fernandez, Stefanie Mach.

 County and Municipal Affairs (Monday afternoon) Chair – Doug Coleman, Vice Chair – Tony Rivero, Paul Boyer, Karen Fann, Rick Gray, Lela Alston, Reginald Bolding, Rosanna Gabaldon.

 Education (Wednesday afternoon) Chair – Paul Boyer, Vice Chair – Jay Lawrence, Doug Coleman, Jill Norgaard, Bob Thorpe, Reginald Bolding, Lisa Otondo.

  Elections (Tuesday morning) Chair – Michelle Ugenti, Vice Chair – J.D. Mesnard, Heather Carter, Jeff Weninger, Ken Clark, Jonathan Larkin.

   Energy, Environment and Natural Resources (Monday afternoon) Chair – Frank Pratt, Vice Chair – Russell “Rusty” Bowers, Brenda Barton, Heather Carter, Mark Finchem, Vince Leach, Ken Clark, Macario Saldate, Victoria Steele.

  Federalism and States’ Rights (Wednesday morning)  Chair – Kelly Townsend, Vice Chair – Noel Campbell, Mark Finchem, Darn Mitchell, Bob Thorpe, Rebecca Rios, Ceci Velasquez, Bruce Wheeler.

  Government and Higher Education (Thursday morning) Chair – Thorpe, Vice Chair – Ackerley, Phil Lovas, Justin Olson, Warren Petersen, Kelly Townsend, Lela Alston, Jonathan Larkin, Macario Saldate.

 Health (Tuesday afternoon) Chair – Heather Carter, Vice Chair – Regina Cobb, Paul Boyer, Jay Lawrence, Randall “Randy” Friese, Eric Meyer.

  Insurance (Wednesday morning) Chair – Karen Fann, Vice Chair – David Livingston, Doug Coleman, Phil Lovas, Bob Robson, Jonathan Larkin, Debbie McCune Davis, Lisa Otondo.

   Judiciary (Wednesday morning) Chair – Eddie Farnsworth, Vice Chair – Sonny Borrelli, Anthony Kern, J.D. Mesnard, Randall “Randy” Friese, Albert Hale.

  Military Affairs and Public Safety (Thursday morning) Chair – Sonny Borrelli, Vice Chair – Mark Finchem, Noel Campbell, Eddie Farnsworth, Anthony Kern, Frank Pratt, Richard Andrade, Mark Cardenas, Stefanie Mach.

  Rules (Monday afternoon) Chair – David Stevens, Vice Chair – Steve Montenegro, David Gowan, David Livingston, Bob Robson, Bob Thorpe, Albert Hale, Ceci Velasquez, Bruce Wheeler.

  Rural and Economic Development (Tuesday afternoon) Chair – T.J. Shope, Vice Chair – Russell “Rusty” Bowers, Brenda Barton, Vince Leach, Frank Pratt, Jennifer Benally, Sally Ann Gonzales, Juan Jose Mendez.

  Transportation and Infrastructure (Tuesday afternoon)  Chair – Rick Gray, Vice Chair – David Stevens, John Christopher Ackerley, Sonny Borrelli, Noel Campbell, Karen Fann, Richard Andrade, Charlene Fernandez, Victoria Steele.

   Ways and Means (Monday afternoon)  Chair – Darin Mitchell, Vice Chair – Anthony Kern, J.D. Mesnard, Justin Olson, Michelle Ugenti, Jeff Weninger, Mark Cardenas, Andrew Sherwood, Bruce Wheeler. 

This link provides access to the Legislation and research

Contact John Kavanagh

Contact Michelle Ugenti

Contact Jay Lawrence

 Link to the status of COS in the Arizona Legislature


Do you like this page?

Be the first to comment